Petersen Wins Big

Keegan Petersen’s hard-work during the 2018/19 season reaped good rewards as he dominated the Annual VKB Knights Awards ceremony held at Tuscan Rose on Tuesday night.

The VKB Knights top-order batsman walked away with five awards, which included the Most Valuable Player of the Year award. Petersen also scooped the Player’s Player of the Year, Fans’ Choice , Momentum One-Day Cup Player of the Year as well as CSA 4-Day Competition Player of the Year awards.

“It is truly an honou. I’m over the moon and it brings joy to my heart knowing that all the hard work I put in paid off. As players, we dream of nights like these and it inspires us as we prepare for the new season,” he said.

VKB Knights Head coach Alan Kruger remarked, “Keegan has been our prolific run-scorer and he nearly broke that significant 1 000 runs landmark in the CSA 4-Day competition, which is hardly ever done. I am very happy for him and he deserves all the accolades he received.”

There were also wins for Raynard van Tonder, who won the T20 Challenge Player of the Year award as well as VKB Knights’ Most Improved Player of the Year.

Van Tonder was also handed over his Free State Sports Awards accolades for being named the Free State Newcomer of the Year at the Free State Sports Awards which were held on August 16.

“I honestly did not expect to win anything, but it is an amazing feeling and I feel proud of myself for the contributions I have made for the team in my debut season,” commented Van Tonder.

“Raynard came into the system as a youngster but he has performed beyond his years so I am very happy for his achievements, he deserves them,” added Kruger.

The awards ceremony was also graced by the Springbok 7s head coach, Neil Powell, who motivated the players and focused on building team culture and family within the squad.

At the conclusion of the awards, Alan Kruger announced his squad for the 2019/20 cricket season: Pite van Biljon (captain), Ottneil Baartman, Mbulelo Budaza, Shaun von Berg, Patrick Kruger, Grant Mokoena, Andries Gous, Mbulelo Budaza, Shadley van Schalkwyk, Tshepo Ntuli, Thandolwethu Mnyaka, Gerald Coetzee, Keegan Petersen, Raynard van Tonder, Luvuyo Adam, Obus Pienaar, Wandile Makwetu and Marco Jansen.

By: Thapelo Molebatsi