Another Sama for Free State

Free State-born muso Coenie de Villiers won a South African Music Award (SAMA) for Beste Kontemporêre Musiekalbum last Friday.

The Afrikaans singer, songwriter and pianist took the prize at the 25th Annual SAMAs at Sun City in Joburg.

Congratulating Coenie on his SAMA win, Free State MEC for Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation Limakatso Mahasa said, “On behalf of the Department I wish to congratulate Coenie for his befitting award at the 25th SAMAs. His discography is that of a legend in the South African music industry and we wish him all the best going into the future. May he continue to receive more recognition from his fans and peers in the music industry.”

Mahasa also congratulated fellow Free State artists who were nominated at the 25th SAMAs such as Brendan Peyper and Prince Kaybee. 

The awards were also hosted by Lesedi FM radio presenter, Twasa Seeoke.

Brendan Peyper was nominated in the Beste Pop Album category while Prince Kaybee was nominated for the Remix of the Year.

De Villiers, who has won three SAMAs before has created music over about 40 years. This time around he took home a SAMA for his 2018 album titled ‘Pure Coenie’.

The night belonged to the country’s most loved gospel group, Joyous Celebration who stamped their authority as best sellers when they took home two awards. The group won for Best Selling DVD for their work titled: ‘Joyous Celebration 22 All For You’ and Best Selling Artist for the same.

Other big-name winners were Nathi Iphupha Labantu for Best African Adult Contemporary Album; Zonke L.O.V.E. for Best R&B/Soul Album; Nakhane’s You Will Not Die for Best Alternative Album; Bokani Dyer Trio Neo Native for Best Jazz Album; Ard Matthews Impossible Machines for Best Adult Contemporary Album; and Coenie de Villiers Pure Coenie for Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album.

We Will Worship’s Seasons Volume 1 scooped the Best Contemporary Faith Album. The Remix of the Year award was taken by Zakwe for Sebentin by Cassper Nyovest, H.H.P., Blaklez, Kwesta, and Musiholiq; while Black Dillinger Mavara is King won Best Reggae Album.

On the technical front, Vusi Nova’s Manyan-nyan earned Robin Walsh the Best Engineered Album gong, while Robin Kohl’s work on Cassper Nyovest’s Fill Up Orlando Stadium was awarded the Best Live Audio Visual Recording of the Year.

Nasty C’s Strings and Bling by Nsikayesizwe David Junior Ngcobo, Sipho Dlamini and Collin Gayle was named the Best Produced Album of the Year; and Jeremy Loops’ Gold by Robert Smith won the Music Video of the Year award.

Tanzania’s bongo flava musician Diamond Platnumz’s won Rest of Africa Award for his album ‘A Boy From Tandale’.

By: Thapelo Molebatsi