Coetzee Scores Big At FS Cricket Awards

Free State Cricket fast bowler Gerald Coetzee showed that hard work reaps good rewards at the 2018/2019 Annual Free State Cricket Awards held at TUFF TOPS Lawns & Estates in Bloemfontein.

The aggressive fast bowler was by far the standout achiever of the night after walking away with two awards including the Senior Provincial Rookie of the Year award.

“I’m really proud of myself for my achievements this evening. Receiving two awards in my first season of first-class cricket really shows how hard I’ve worked throughout the season and I’m really grateful to all my coaches from under 19 to the VKB Knights for granting me opportunities to showcase my talent,” commented Gerald.

After a minor injury during a tour of India with SA under 19 teams, Coetzee demonstrated that he has what it takes as he made his way into the semi provincial team and ultimately made his franchise debut for the VKB Knights, all in one season.

“It has really been an eye-opening season for me. The level is higher, meaning as a player one has to stay fit mentally and physically and fortunately, I have a very supportive family that pushes me to do better for myself,” added the youngster.

“As Free State Cricket, we have been known for producing quality fast bowlers and its always an honour to see bowlers dominate the Free state Cricket awards. It clearly indicates that we still have the talent in the province,” noted Free State Cricket Chief Executive, Johan van Heerden. “Congratulations to all award recipients, may you continue to prosper,” he said.

There were also two awards for Kroonstad-born Thandekile Plank who was named the RPC Player of the year and the Rural Cricketer of the year for his inclusion in the SA Rural team.

Other winners on the night were; Romano Terblanche (Free State Senior Provincial Player of the Year) and Izabella Cilliers (Women’s Player of the Year), with the Free State Women’s Team, also being named Team of The Year for their achievement in the 2018/2019 season.

Other significant winners included Presidential Award recipient which went to Senior Provincial Women’s Team. Women’s Cricket Rookie of the year: Rene Nel; Women’s Cricket Players Player of the year: Yolandi Potgieter and Women’s Cricket Player of the year: Izabella Cilliers.

Differently Abled player of the year: David Landry, Rural Cricketer of the year: Thandekile Plank

Scorer of the year: Kenny Saunders, Newcomer Umpire of the year: Tsolo Tsosane and Umpire of the year: Adrian Field.

Coach of the year: Dillon du Preez and Academy Player of the year: Siphamandla Mavand.